my own space: My Cool Homeland, INDONESIA

Saturday, November 30, 2013

My Cool Homeland, INDONESIA

Located between two distinct bio-geographic groups - Asia and Australia; Indonesia is often referred to as the world's largest archipelago.

There are eight major islands or island groups in this enormous chain. The largest islands consist of Sumatra, Java, Kalimantan (Borneo), Sulawesi (Celebes) and Irian Jaya (the western half of Papua New Guinea). The smaller islands fall into two main groups: the Molluccas to the northeast, and the lesser Sunda chain east of Bali.